Faculty Profile

Name : Dr. C. Anandharamakrishnan
Designation : Director
Email ID : director@iifpt.edu.in
Mobile No. : +914362-228155
Specialization : Food Engineering

Dr. C. Anandharamakrishnan has two decades of experience in R&D and administration at the CSIR - Central Food Technological Research Institute (CFTRI). He was Principal Scientist and Coordinator for the Academy of Scientific & Innovative Research (AcSIR) at CSIR-CFTRI, before being appointed as the Director of Indian Institute of Food Processing Technology (IIFPT), Thanjavur.

Dr. Anandharamakrishnan completed his Doctoral degree in Chemical Engineering from Loughborough University, United Kingdom, under the Commonwealth programme. He pursued his B.Tech. (Chemical Engineering) and M.Tech. from A.C. College of Technology, Anna University, Chennai. His areas of research include design of engineered nano and micro scale delivery systems for the controlled and targeted release of food bioactive compounds, spray drying and spray-freeze-drying of food products and computational modeling of food processing operations. His research endeavours are well documented in the form of highly commendable publications in reputed international journals with an average impact factor of 3.071, two International patents and seven Indian patents. He is also the author of 6 books and 44 book chapters published by coveted publishers. He has supervised 8 Ph.D. theses and more than 50 bachelor’s and master’s theses.

Dr. Anandharamakrishnan is the elected Fellow of National Academy of Sciences (FNASc), Fellow of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS) Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), Fellow of Royal Society of Biology (FRSB), Fellow of Association of Food Scientists and Technologists (India) – AFST(I), and the Institute of Engineers (FIE). He serves/served as the Editor of Journal of Food Science and Technology (Springer), Editorial Board member of various international journals and as a peer reviewer for more than 20 International journals. He is the member of several professional committees and the member of the Board of Studies in various academic institutions. He is the recipient of several awards including, Prof. Jiwan Singh Sidhu Award 2010 from the Association of Food Scientists and Technologists (India), Individual Award in Scientific Contributions 2012 and Best Research Paper (Applied Science) 2014 by CSIR-CFTRI, and Dr B.D.Tilak Chemcon Distinguished Speaker Award 2016 from the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers (IIChE). He is also recipient of the prestigious M.S. Swaminathan Scientific Tamil Excellence Award 2017 and Dr. M. Sabir Oration Award 2017 by Indian Society of Veterinary Pharmacology and Toxicology. Recently, he has been awarded as Best Director of the year 2018 and Visionary Leader of the Year 2018 by Integrated Chamber of Commerce and Industries (ICCI). He was also conferred with Treasure Trove of Scientific Knowledge Award 2018 by MTS Academy, Chennai. He is the recipient of the prestigious NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award 2018 and AIFPA Special Platinum Jubilee Award for Development of Food Processing Technology & Innovation 2018. Recently he was conferred with Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Best Scientist & Distinguished Fellow Award 2018-2019.

Under his leadership, IIFPT was recognized by the Indian Technical Congress for its contribution in promoting food security and research. IIFPT was also ranked 87th in overall MHRD-NIRF 2017 rankings and the Institute was awarded as Excellent Institute for Food Processing Technology in India during the 11th National Education Summit & Awards 2017. IIFPT also received ASSOCHAM's award for Best Institute for Women Skill Development 2017, FICCI's Award for Excellence in Institutional Social Responsibility 2017 and Skoch Gold Award - 2017 for 4 novel food products. Integrated Chamber of commerce and Industries (ICCI) has awarded IIFPT as Best Innovative Training Provider of the year 2018. IIFPT also received ASSOCHAM's award for Best Institute for Innovation on Skill Development 2018 and AICTE- SAGY Initiative Awards 2018.